isolatedmix 32 – Good Weather For An Airstrike

isolatedmix 32 comes from one of my favourite artists of recent years, Tom Honey, who records as Good Weather For An Airstrike; a project which was born in 2009 as a result of Tom trying to alleviate the issues of suffering caused by Tinnitus. He also holds, in my opinion, one of the best artist names there is – a name which immediately transports you to a open field, looking skyward at clear-blue skies, a glistening sun and that feeling of dizzyness as you tilt your head back that little too far – a feeling which is common through Tom’s delicate field recordings, post-rock stylings and ambient backings.

Tom is relatively new to all this but has some solid releases under his belt from the past few years; one with the prestigious hibernate recordings, Rural Colours, and an album on his own label, ‘Hawk Moon Records‘. But, if you’re looking for an intro to GWFAA, his most recent EP on the Audio Gourmet netlabel should be your starting point – a free download too. Number of releases aside, every single one has been carefully and meticulously crafted into his own signature sound, combining some of the most elegant guitars with hazy ambient field recordings to transport you into that very field I described above. He’s also branching out with his brother Rob under the alias ‘Damn Robot!’ – Tom’s moving fast and i’ve been loving every part of it so far.

The mix, is a perfect intro to Tom’s inspirations. Starting off with his more ambient side, the mix progresses through more guitar-led tracks, introducing vocals, harmonies and always retaining a blend of melody and escapism. There’s some big, epic moments in here, sat alongside some very tranquil and calming instrumentals. Fans of post-rock and shoegaze fan will enjoy this one, and hopefully many-an ambient fan finds a new solace in Tom’s love of guitars.

“A collection of tracks from signed and unsigned artists who I’ve been listening to pretty regularly over the last 6 months or so, some of whom have been pretty strong influences on Good Weather for an Airstrike and Damn Robot! material, I hope you enjoy them as much as I have been recently.”


01. Hammock – Ten Thousand Years Won’t Save Your Life
02. Apparat – Black Water
03. Ashtar Command – Into Dust
04. Drops – Autumn Walks
05. Good Weather for an Airstrike – Goodnight, Boogaloo (Free Download)
06. Moving Mountains – Furnace Woods (acoustic version)
07. Owen – A Bird In Hand
08. Frou Frou – Hear Me Out
09. SPC ECO – Spotlight
10. Message to Bears – Daylight Goodbye
11. Oathless – Summer Haze
12. Anathema – Untouchable, Part 2

GWFAA on Bandcamp | Facebook | Twitter | Soundcloud


9 Responses to “isolatedmix 32 – Good Weather For An Airstrike”

  1. Hello dear Friends!

    Thank you Tom for the wonderful music very much!

    I’m broadcasting this mix today at 3pm CET on

    Greetings from Kyiv!

    Posted by slava | October 2, 2012, 7:44 am
  2. great stuff for any morning wake up call. again you out do yourself. thanks all around.

    Posted by futurestar | October 8, 2012, 12:54 pm
  3. Thanks for the support guys!

    Posted by Ryan | October 15, 2012, 9:17 pm
  4. all the power went out in the neighborhood so I lit a candle and
    kip open my macbook and hit ASAIP isolated mix 32. how apropos. terrific mix for this 3:00 in the morning, all lights out mix. perfect. thanks.

    Posted by futurestar | December 20, 2012, 8:54 am
  5. great day for a sonic sound strike between your ears. fast, quiet, slow, and subtle. a rocket to the brain matter like ot does matter plenty and forever like.

    Posted by futurestar | March 25, 2013, 12:52 pm
  6. yeah this mix bleeds heart and soul with a nice build up to cataclysmic. one of my personal favorites this season. thanks.

    Posted by futurestar | September 17, 2013, 9:57 pm
  7. Hope to hear next isolatedmix from Tom. Thx mate – i like your taste of music )

    Posted by Krumo | December 10, 2013, 9:36 am


  1. Pingback: Anonymous - October 2, 2012

  2. Pingback: Good Weather For An Airstrike – Lights | astrangelyisolatedplace - October 29, 2012

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>