isolatedmix 19 – Specta Ciera

One of the ‘newest’ inspirations to be invited to participate in the isolatedmix series, Devin Underwood first captured my attention with his ‘Snowflake Collections’ – released on the brilliant Secret Station Records in 2009. Since then, I’ve been following Specta Ciera‘s contributions to some of the best net-labels in existence, including i,Absentee, Distance Recordings, Circlesandlines and Audio Gourmet. Needless to say, disappointment doesn’t seem to be something Devin offers up.

Devin dips his toes in atmospheric ambient (take his latest EP with Jacob Newman), gentle and melodic electronica, (‘It’s Barely There‘ being one of my favourites), more beat based electronica (Autumn in a Cup) dub-techno (take his Energy Dream 2 EP) and even produces full-on electronic assaults as one half of Drexon Field (again part of Secret Station Records and Attacknine – home to the likes of Casino Versus Japan). His sound is varied, modest and typically understated.

I say Devin is one of the ‘newest’ producers to contribute to the series, because it’s rare I get the chance to invite those who have most recently inspired me in one way or another. Along with Lunar Testing Lab (isolatedmix 08 and head of Secret Station), Specta Ciera has consistently contributed to (many free) net-label releases, which in itself is not only inspirational, but can be seen as the lifeblood of today’s ambient and electronica music community and is most certainly one of the biggest reasons ASIP exists.

Devin’s isolatedmix is a dive into his dub-techno roots, a first within the series and of course another unforgettable mix to push the series along. Here’s what Devin has to say about the set:

Dub techno has always helped me relax and think, which is why I decided to create this mix. Mixing new dub techno with some old favorites, I tried to create a smooth flowing mix to allow all the different shades of dub techno to shine. Ranging from very hazy/dreamy rhythms like Andrea Suglia & Quantec, to more experimental basic channel like tracks such as Recon. Some of the tracks have also been selected from amazing netlabels as well including CISM, Silent Season, as well as Energostatic (all highly recommended labels).


01. Andrea Suglia – “The Beach” (0.00)
02. Resoe – “Tanzfieber” (7:00)
03. Christoph Schindling – “inside” (14:00)
04. Havantepe – “Starliner” – (22:50)
05. Kyle Erich Schulz – “Hemlockfeast” (26:50)
06. Quantec – “Supra” (34:50)
07. King Midas Sound – “Too Long Dub” (40:55)
08. Recon – “Travel Analog” (45:15)
09. Mr Cloudy – “Different Lives (March Snow Dub)” (48:06)
10. R&S meet the Chosen Brothers – “History Version” (55:08)

**ASIP is currently looking for artists to contribute to an upcoming release series – find out more.**


9 Responses to “isolatedmix 19 – Specta Ciera”

  1. Very tasty :-)

    Posted by m:cast | August 5, 2011, 10:55 pm
  2. Great mix – many thanks!

    Posted by Tom | August 7, 2011, 4:03 pm
  3. great take off grabs your attention and keeps it dead center. great choices well put together. has a dangerous sounding, haunting edge. superb selection. thanks all around.

    Posted by futurestar | August 9, 2013, 4:29 pm


  1. Pingback: Futuresequence – SEQUENCE1 « astrangelyisolatedplace - September 13, 2011

  2. Pingback: Specta Ciera – Signal Return « astrangelyisolatedplace - October 26, 2011

  3. Pingback: Lost Satellite Transmission « astrangelyisolatedplace - December 17, 2011

  4. Pingback: ASIP – Before & After (Das Kraftfuttermischwerk Adventskalender) « astrangelyisolatedplace - December 19, 2011

  5. Pingback: Secret Station – Broadcast Four | astrangelyisolatedplace - February 15, 2012

  6. Pingback: Jack Lane – Neil Davies | astrangelyisolatedplace - June 4, 2012

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>