Umber – Morning’s Pass

It’s always humbling to know there are amazingly talented artists out there, which really have no-where close to the following they deserve. Umber is one of them.

‘Morning’s Pass’ is a collection of six songs which Alex Steward has recorded over the past year, making this, his first official release. The EP is a mixture of gentle guitars, distant pianos and beautiful ambient textures – a combination that often promises the earth, but in this instance, delivers the distant, gazing universe on a hot, Summers day.

The EP begins with two similarly brilliant tracks featuring patiently strummed guitars, wrapped in textures and warmth – a perfect interlude for the rather pretty ‘Tomorrow We’ll Throw Out Some Old Shoes’. This is where Alex’s acoustic guitar skills really come into play and an addictive melody pins a big grin on your face – the kind of track that TV advertisers crave for… you know the ones.

‘The Day We Left for Earth’ is a more mellow affair, but still features Alex’s now signature close acoustics wrapped amongst an engaging ambient feel. The remaining tracks are just as special, each as patient and acknowledging as the next. Alex has a talent in creating amazing highs; with perfect timing, and an appreciation for the minimalist instruments he has selected across the EP.

If the likes of Winterlight and Helios had a power-cut, with nothing but a magnitude of acoustic guitars, pianos and their own musical talents to rely on, this is what they’d play – a beautiful post-rock/folk/ambient album which is warming, reflective and similarly genius.

Alex normally gives away ‘a song a week‘ via his Tumblr, which are just as great as the EP. And he has even been so kind as to produce one exclusively for ASIP. You can Download ‘I Wasn’t Aiming For The Ocean’, here.

Umber – Morning’s Pass is available to download on Bandcamp and the physical EP’s are also worth the investment (photo above is of the lovingly crafted Lilac edition I received).

Follow ASIP on Facebook.
[twitter-follow screen_name=’asip’]


8 Responses to “Umber – Morning’s Pass”

  1. Love. Buy. Immediately.

    Posted by Pete Srdic | July 25, 2011, 11:39 am
  2. goosebumps. it’s stunning – thanks for sharing! I’m off to throw some money at Umber. :D

    Posted by Mark Van Der Vord | July 25, 2011, 12:01 pm
  3. another amazing find. love it!

    Posted by Roberto Sodano | July 26, 2011, 5:28 pm
  4. Just recieved my CD this morning, love every second, thanks for the introduction.

    Posted by Neil Robinson | August 6, 2011, 10:35 am
  5. Awesome! Thanks for letting us know, Neil.

    Posted by Ryan | August 6, 2011, 11:15 am


  1. Pingback: Futuresequence – SEQUENCE1 « astrangelyisolatedplace - September 13, 2011

  2. Pingback: mach v | London-based DJ, VJ and know it all – Send in the Drones: New Ambient mix, Free Download, 320kbps - April 9, 2012

  3. Pingback: Mach V – Send In The Drones | astrangelyisolatedplace - April 10, 2012

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>